A grandiose monument recognizing the 55th Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry Regiment and “A” Company that was formed in Hemlock original Washington township by Colonel Richard White, a local farmer, was dedicated. A center panel recognized Sergeant Augustin Flanagan, A Medal of Honor Recipient, from that company.
Events of the Night of Saturday, April 5, 1924. The KKK from Johnstown PA. made plans to lease a Penna. Railroad train for the night, a train that became known as the “KKK Special.” Approximately 400 Klansmen came to Lilly that night. They arrived in Lilly and disembarked at the station, lining up four abreast on Cleveland Street for their march to intersection of North Street (the old Plane 4 road) on Pipers's Hill. During the “KKK” ceremony they set off a dynamite blast and burned two crosses. Returning to the train they where confronted by angry townspeople.
Monument located at the corner of Cleveland and Railroad Streets.
On Saturday September 2, 2006, a memorial at the base of old Plane No. 4 of the Allegheny Portage Rail Road was dedicated. A large ‘bronze’ high-relief plague –depicting in four discrete sections: the View up Plane no. 4, the Engine House at the head of the Plane, the Hitching Shed at the foot of the Plane, and the View up the Plane - dominates the monument
Nestled within the foothills of the Allegheny Mountains lie the Communities of Lilly , and Washington Township, both rich in history, and an integral part of Pennsylvania railroad and coal industry. In 1831, Washington Township was formed from Allegheny, Cambria, and Summerhill townships. Lilly Borough was taken from Washington Township in 1883, ascending from the village names of Hemlock circa 1822, Lilly’s Mills circa 1849, and Laurel Run circa 1852. The series of eight monuments attest to that history and to the men and woman who strived to make it a vibrant community.
Paul Sweeney's family attended a bridge dedication ceremony at the Lilly American Legion. A bridge along Overbridge and Railroad streets in Lilly was renamed the Paul E. Sweeney Memorial Bridge. Sweeney entered the Army at the age of 22. He saw action in the Saint-Lo Campaign and received a Silver Star for his actions in combat. He was also awarded the Purple Heart for injuries he received from a German sniper.
Due to generosity of Al Tranquillo and Mike Mazur, the Miner's Memorial Park has been greatly enhanced. The brick wall and Butterfly sign was donated by Al Tranquillo. The gazebo is a gift from Mike Mazur.
The garden updates are still in progress, besides replacing perimeter mulch with river stone, trimming the hedges and trees, the gardens need to be updated. Master Gardeners from the Penn State Extension program will be assisting in the work of planning, weeding and planting the gardens.
There are eight monuments through-out the community of Lilly-Washington Township
Sign up to hear from our team.
Let the parade begin,
Memorial Presentation: State senator John Wozniak, Marcelle and Paul Cooney, state representative Frank Burns, and Joi and Patty Cooney are presented with copies of the bill that granted the bridge over Route 22 be named for Paul Cooney's brother. The overpass carrying Cooney Road over Route 22 was dedicated Friday, Aug. 19, 2016.
Cooney, Thomas WWII
PFC Thomas Andrew Cooney was born on a Muster Township farm in 1819, a son of Charles and Mathilda Cooney. He Graduated from Lilly High School in 1936 and worked for the C.A. Huges Coal Company before entering the Army on July 8, 1942. After training he was first sent to North Africa in February of 1943 and then he battled the Nazi’s from the Anzio beachhead on through Italy to Rome and then into France where he was killed in action on October 20, 1944, while serving with the 11th Engineer Combat Battalion, 36 Infantry.
He was awarded the Silver Star and Purple Heart posthumously.
Our Lady of the Alleghenies Parish will be collecting non-perishable food items at the Thanksgiving Day mass.
Lilly-Washington Annual Sleigh Ride will take place on November 24th from 5:30 pm until 9:00 pm. Reservations must be made in advance by calling the Lilly-Washington Public Library @ (814) 886-7543. Cost per person is $4.00.
The Lilly Area Annual Tree Lighting will take place at the Lilly Borough building at 7:00 pm on Saturday November 24th. After the tree lighting ceremony Santa is expected to arrive at the Lilly Borough building where hot chocolate and cookies will be available after the Tree Lighting Ceremony
Decorating the Town
Lilly Borough employee's along with inmates from Cambria County travel through-out the borough install Christmas directions.
If you are a Lilly-Washington area resident or organization and have information about an upcoming event, send us an email and we will try to post the information on our web page.
OUR BELIEF THAT THE LILLY-WASHINGTON HISTORICAL SOCIETY'S MISSION IS to DISCOVER, to ORGANIZE, to DISPLAY, to CURATE, and to PUBLISH the HISTORY of OUR COMMUNITIES.