Jan 152015

Lilly Lines by Jack Barlick 814-886-4694
The Penn Cambria Cheer leaders are hosting a Cheer Camp for 5th, 6th, 7th and 8th graders this evening at the Intermediate School. The cost is $25 dollars and the participant will receive a free t-shirt, a cheer bow and get to cheer along with the Penn Cambria Cheerleaders at the game against Central on February 5.

Brett Dively was the scorekeeper at a recent Penn Cambria girls’ basketball game when the cheerleaders serenaded him with a happy birthday greeting. He was celebrating his 50th birthday and to top off his evening he also won the 50/50.

Sympathy is extended to the family and friends of Isabelle “Belle” Suchta who died at the age of 92 in Altoona. She was the widow of George Suchta. Belle was born in Lilly a daughter of Anthony and Jemine Bellizia. She was a veteran of WW11 having served as a Hospital Apprentice 1st Class.

The Lilly Community Volunteer Fire Company held its annual Installation and Awards Banquet on Sunday, January 11 at the Sokols Club. Mayor Jack Barlick administered the Oath of office to the 2015 officers.

Those installed included: Paul Sklodowski, president; Montana Miller, vice president; Jeremy McIntosh, recording secretary; Ray Guzic, treasurer; Matt Myers, financial secretary. Fire Company Trustees: Paul Smith, Dan Myers and Bill Conley Sr. and Relief trustees Shane Smith, Jamie Hartline and Russ Conley.

Line officers installed were: Fire Chief, Ian Daugherty; Deputy chief Ed Myers; Assistant chief, Matt Myers. Captain 1 Bill Conley Sr and Captain 2 Montana Miller. The Rescue captain is Jremy McIntosh and Lieutenants are Dan Myers and Alex Eberhart. Safety officers are Ray Guzic and William Claar Sr. The fire police captain is Russ Conley and fire police lieutenant is Robert Klayko. Shane Smith is the accountability officer.

Life memberships were presented to George Nesbella. Pat Barlick, Dan Ehrenfeld, Arturo Martynuska, and Richard Glenn. David Bender and Gina Bender also received Life Memberships. Jamie Hartline was named Fire Member of the Year and Cameron Smith received the Most Improved Firefighter award. Edward Myers was named the Lilly Companies Fireman of the Year.

Lieutenant Angel M. Carrero, a retired New York City fireman who was trapped for three days in the debris after the 9/11 disaster was the guest speaker and reminded the young firemen in attendance that they (firefighters) are one family. He was presented an honorary life membership by the Lilly Company.

Patricia Miorelli and Jared McConnell celebratre their birthdays on January 16 followed by Charles Baker, Nevaeh Eckenrode and Nathan Offman on the 17th’ The 18th will be party time for Linda Albarano, Dorothy Glenn, Ed Costlow and Bobby Glenn. On the 19th Bryan Spiker, Jeff Spiker, Ashley Eckenrode, Stell Ketchessin, Joseph Krug Jr., Bonnie Mardula and Nathan Stevens all enjoy cake and ice cream as will Andre Marinek, Monica Siedlarczyk and Imy McMullen on the 20th. Carol McLucas celebrates on the 21st. Happy Birthday to All!

On January 21 Francis and Lynn Filak, Leroy and Mary George and Robert and Margaret Kunrod celebrate their wedding anniversaries. Happy Anniversary to Each Couple!

You are an old timer if you remember when Sarge Jacobs was president, and Vic Smith was treasurer of the Lilly Fire Company. Some members way back then were Felix Zajdel, Art Yingling, Chick Claar, Bill Claar, Jack Neff, Cook Wills , Mike Devett and Joe Devett.